Holidays 2015 Edition – A Wholesome and Bustling Break

This is a special edition right in the holiday season for 2015. It features 2 separate meets with an old flame that didn’t quite spark due to geographic situations. Szabo! The wonderful experience from December 2014!

During the date 3:

Due to time constraint, we decided to do lunch near his workplace. I picked a rustic farm to table restaurant in the area.

I picked a sweet sweater with a bold necklace.

Conversation revolved around travels during the year. We both did a recap of each of our years without really locking in on a subject. Lunch quickly came to a conclusion.

Conclusion:

We split the bill and he recommended a place for me to grab a cup of coffee. He asked how long I’d be in town for and I agreed it would be lovely to see him before I leave.

It was a newly opened cafe and I loved the space. I ended up chatting with the manager/owner for 20 minutes about different cities we’ve both visited.

Quick but great date.

During the date 4:

This one was a confusion one. He mentioned inviting friends over for dinner and invited me. I heartily agreed to go, thinking that this location would lead to something more. After some hiccups from deciding to host a dinner on Christmas day, he said he would be going to a friend’s apartment instead and invited me. Hesitant (but Szabo is so cute!), I agreed.

I show up and there are 2 people at this gathering, Szabo and his friend. We ended up chatting for a few hours and it was lovely. We talked about plants, tv shows, and travels.

Szabo mentioned he should get going and I followed suit. He offered to drive me to the closest train station. It dawned on me that no physical relations would develop. As he pulled up to the station, I /had/ to ask him why he had invited me and wondered this was not a continuation from the dates last December. It turns out he met someone. (Looking back, it makes sense, he stopped checking his online dating profile a month ago and afterwards, I saw he’d deleted it.) He invited me out because it would’ve been nice to hangout.

It made sense to me that moment and my hopes were dashed.

Conclusion:

 

As I sat on the train home, feeling disappointed, a big silver lining appeared. The excitement and subsequent disappointment I had was something I hadn’t felt in a few months since the end of Shatner. It was wonderful to feel that new excitement again!

With regards to Szabo, perhaps I will see him in a month when I return for a wedding and perhaps I will see him when he visits his sister who just moved to this city. Whether I see him or not, I’m content with that he seems to genuinely like me as a person. I’m also content that I like him for his laugh (this deep good-natured laugh), his hugs (warm and inviting), and his overall attractiveness (tall and good-looking in a soft-spoken way). I’m happy I got to meet him these few times.

 

Leave a comment